Ballards was established by Richard Henry Rodda in 1893 at 42 Farnham Street Flemington after completing five years training as an Articled Clerk to Douglas Wilkie of 26 Queen Street Melbourne.
In 1903 he moved the head office to Normanby Chambers 430 Chancery Lane Melbourne, now Little Collins Street, apparently with another solicitor Matthew Davies, whilst maintaining the Flemington office as a branch office. .
In 1920 Richard (Dick) Ballard joined the practice and in 1924 Robert (Bob) Vroland commenced his Articles of Clerkship with the firm and was awarded the Supreme Court Prize.
In 1929 Rodda retired from the practice and sold his interest to Bob Vroland. Rodda died in 1930 aged 67 years.
Following Rodda’s retirement the firm was renamed Rodda Ballard and Vroland.
Hector Bathurst commenced articles with the firm in 1955.
In 1972 the firm established an office in Burke Road Camberwell, maintaining the City office for some years. The firm was then renamed Ballards Solicitors.
In 1989 the firm moved to the iconic white terraces opposite Knox City Shopping Centre when Ballards acquired the practice of Di Donato and Co.
Neville Windebank joined the firm in 1989, and became a partner in 1990.
Mandy Greenlaw joined the firm in 2003 when Ballards acquired the practice of Murphy’s in Templestowe.
Hector Bathurst retired from practice in 2013 after 58 years with the firm.
Liability limited by a scheme approved under Professional Standards Legislation